Kayaking 350.jpg

Family Floating Adventures- September

Summer is a great time to be on the water in Texas either kayaking, canoeing, tubing or boating. With all the recent rains, the rivers, lakes and bays are full and ready for families to get out and enjoy them. Before you head out for a family adventure here are some tips to make sure you enjoy the water safely.

1. Make sure someone knows where you are going and it is best to file a trip plan that has a map where you will be recreating.

2. Make sure all family members, including yourself, has a proper fitting life jacket.

3. Check your craft for leaks.

4. Make sure the lake, river or bay that you are visiting is open. With all the recent flooding and heavy rains, many boat launches are still closed.

5. Stay clear of debris piles in the water and near the shore.

6. Check the weather.

7. Make sure you and your children know how to swim.

You can find even more safety tips at the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department's website.

TPWD and the National Park Service also have several Paddling Trails in Texas that scenic and fun. Remember when enjoying outdoor recreation on the water, it is always important to know your limits and the limits of the people with you.

Here are some fun place to get outdoors and enjoy kayaking, canoeing, tubing or stand-up paddle board in your area.

Austin:

Lady Bird Lake- https://austintexas.gov/page/lady-bird-lake

Inks Lake- http://www.naturerocksaustin.org/greenspace/inks-lake-state-park

San Antonio:

San Marcos River- http://www.naturerockssanantonio.org/greenspace/san-marcos-river

Comal River- http://www.tubetexas.com/rivers/comal-river.html

Guadalupe River- http://www.naturerockssanantonio.org/greenspace/guadalupe-river-state-park

Dallas/Fort Worth:

White Rock Lake- http://www.naturerocksnorthtexas.org/greenspace/white-rock-lake

Piney Woods:

Tyler State Park- http://www.naturerockspineywoods.org/greenspace/tyler-state-park

Neches River- http://www.nechesriveradventures.org/

Coastal Bend:

Mustang Island- http://www.naturerockscoastalbend.org/greenspace/mustang-island-state-park

Rio Grande Valley:

Andy Bowie County Park- http://www.naturerocksrgv.org/greenspace/andy-bowie-county-park

South Padre National Seashore- http://www.naturerocksrgv.org/greenspace/padre-island-national-seashore

Caprock:

Lake Meredith- http://www.naturerockscaprock.org/greenspace/lake-meredith-national-recreation-area

Lake Colorado City- http://www.naturerockscaprock.org/greenspace/lake-meredith-national-recreation-area